A Mind Amused: A Journey into the Mind Museum

Guess the aftermath: Who turned out to be whose dinner? Place your bets.

For a couple of hours, I was a wide-eyed child again. Last Saturday, I made my visit to The Mind Museum in The Fort (scratching that off my invisible bucket list now) and well, I was impressed. From the dazzling colors of The Light Bridge to the Mars Rover in The Majestic Universe, I couldn’t help but feel the joy of discovery and rediscovery.

Seeing and reading about the different kinds of rocks and molecular structures, having a gag at the confused face of a pre-evolutionary man’s mannequin (I found it necessary to mimic the puzzled expression for a photo) and meeting Stan, a full skeletal structure of a tyrannosaurus rex for the first time in my life brought to mind fragments of my field trip and documentary-viewing memories as a grade school boy.

I’ll admit that I didn’t set foot in the museum with an academic disposition (mind you, I had no quiz to prepare for) but at least I was armed with excitement and anticipation. Never mind that the exhibits were heavily branded. Never mind that I’m out of school (a graduate, not a dropout) and never mind that I won’t remember everything that I saw in there. What matters is that it inspired me to keep asking questions. I mean sure, the Mind Museum gives answers but I encountered most of them in textbooks and the classroom. The answers are there for the younger minds to absorb. I’m miles away from being a scientific genius but that isn’t the point. You don’t have to be a geek to appreciate knowledge or thirst for it. People spend time, money and energy on projects like this museum for ultimately one thing: the pursuit of truth.

Truth be told (pun intended), the pursuit will never end. Why? Because the questions easily outnumber and will outlive us. But I take comfort in that. I take comfort in knowing that there are things I don’t know and that there are things I will never know. But what’s the point then, you ask? Well for sure, it isn’t about knowing everything. For starters, learning new things isn’t as easy as you may think.

Learning requires that you drop certain biases, mindsets and prejudices to pave the way for what’s to enter your mind and shape it. Learning, whether it’s about the universe, the Earth, how the dinosaurs died out or how to defend yourself from gigantic sea monsters (erm, photo) changes you. It stretches your mind to new dimensions – because there’s an infinite number of things to learn, the space into which our minds can expand is infinite as well. I mean, think about it. Wouldn’t it be boring if there wasn’t anything new to learn anymore?

About this entry