The Beatles & The Killers Live (on DVD)

I’ll have to lay off bookstores and record bars after today. Their goods are my weakness and I’ve been splurging. I spent about an hour or so at AstroVision (Shang) browsing through their collection of albums and DVDs. I had a handful of discs at some point (Norah Jones, Diana Krall and The Who were some of my prospects) but I decided to settle for concert DVDs for a change. I had to decide among three:

  • Nirvana: Live at Reading Festival
  • The Killers: Live from the Royal Albert Hall
  • The Four Complete Historic Ed Sullivan Shows Featuring The Beatles and other Artists (…)

After much internal drama, I decided to take The Killers and The Beatles. My reluctant decision was made under the rationale that of the three, I have the most Nirvana goods: a Kurt Cobain shirt, his Journals, and a Bleach record. But I feel I won’t sleep until I go back for their DVD. So I shall return. I just contradicted the first sentence of this paragraph, apparently.

_

The Killers | Live from the Royal Albert Hall

You’d think these guys were British, but they aren’t. Hailing from Las Vegas, they make music that’s virtually impossible to pin down by genre. They could go arena rock for one song then go acoustic piano with the next. They’re unpredictable. The package is a 2-disc set: disc 1 is the DVD containing the footage and disc 2 is the live audio CD. Live from the Royal Albert Hall is a documentation of a significant point in the band’s life, after releasing four successful albums and touring extensively. I wish they’d reconsider playing in Manila. I’d really love to see them live.

_

The Beatles | The Four Complete Historic Ed Sullivan Shows Featuring The Beatles and other Artists (…)

My dad was barely two years old when Beatlemania exploded in America. The February 9 episode of The Ed Sullivan Show in 1964 marked a significant date in music history. The breathlessly screaming female audiences, the mid-length hair and “skinny” suits were forever embedded on the collective consciousness. This 2-DVD set is contains much more than just the live performances of The Fab Four. It also offers a glimpse of the culture back then, with the television advertisements and Sullivan’s attempts to silence the crowd as he spoke microphone-less in front of the camera. For older audiences, it’s a trip down memory lane. For myself and my peers, it’s a journey to a new yet old world, enriching and charming at once.

About this entry