Not on Such a Nice Day: Earth vs. the Flying Saucers (1956)

Russell and Carol

Flying saucers, anybody? It’s been a while since I acquainted myself with this facet of science fiction. Just last night, I saw Source Code and despite the criticism on its technicalities and loopholes, I enjoyed the film. Earth versus the Flying Saucers was relevant to society (American society, at least) back in the 1950s because it was a time when UFO sightings and speculations on extraterrestrial life ran wild. I’ll admit, seeing movies from this era can be quite challenging because I’ve yet to work on my patience for the plot to unfold, the lengthy dialogs and basically the lack of the thrill factor. It’s an acquired taste, really, and at this point, I’m still trying to get used to it. Perhaps the part of this film I liked best was the science of time and the saucers’ basis for motion. Upon boarding the ship and conversing with the aliens, Dr. Marvin was instructed to look at his watch and feel his pulse. He had thought that the former wasn’t ticking, and he had none of the latter–which was not the case. The aliens then explained that they were acting and moving at a totally different time frame, “in between the ticks of (our) time” meaning it was much faster than “human” time, of course. I also liked how the saucers used the gravitational pull from elsewhere (a stronger one) to propel its rapid motion. My thoughts now flutter through other things I’d read about, like black triangles. Have people really seen them? Are we being watched? Are there disguised aliens treading among us? My questions vastly outnumber the sentences in this entry so I’d best stop here for now.

View the trailer.

About this entry