Too Much of Music is Good for You

I’ve been reading through an issue of Q Magazine, the one with Dave Grohl on the cover (thanks to a friend for lending me her rich collection of music magazines). It contains articles and segments featuring artists like The Vaccines, The Kills, Biffy Clyro and the Foo Fighters. Consuming pieces of music journalism has always been somewhat sacred to me. I would frequently prefer being alone and undisturbed, taking in the text and photos. Each time I come across such works, I silently wish that the writers’ styles and techniques would rub off on me. Well, some of it probably will. I’m currently at the album reviews section and by far, after reading about 10 or 15 records, a familiar realization struck me:

There’s too much music in the world.

Perhaps that statement doesn’t weigh as heavily on your consciousness as it does on mine, but think about it. You’d think you’ve been there heard it all then obviously, you realize you’re wrong. It happens to me a lot. I’ve been listening to music from the 60’s and 70’s. Maybe it’s a phase. Now, I’m finding my way back to present-day 2011. I see the writings on Q Review and find myself at once crestfallen and enthusiastic about all the new music coming about – in the US and the UK, at the very least. Crestfallen because I find myself having a lot of catching up to do. Enthusiastic because frankly, the new always has an implication of the potentiality of the interesting and exciting. Of course, one could go the other way around and blandly lament about the state of music today. This and that is crap. There are loads of people like that. I’m not one of them, I hope you aren’t as well. It often helps to act like a wide-eyed (or eared) witness to things. Don’t get me wrong, though. Naive is not what I’m going for. I’m basically siding with the fact that humans are naturally curious, applying this principle to music. Fact: the world is so saturated with countless masses of aural textures, patterns and arrangements (a fancy way to call “music”) – so much of it, that none of us will ever be able to hear it all in one lifetime. Yeah, being immortal has its perks, but who lives forever? For somebody like myself, the reality is a downer. I can’t help it and nobody can. I’m not even sure what my main point is anymore. Well, whatever happens, I’ll keep listening – for the past, the present and the future. I’ll try to cover everything I can.

I wonder what the rock and roll of extra terrestrial life sounds like.

About this entry