Sonic Trip: My Week in Seven Tracks

Academic and artistic duties have swept me off my feet the past few weeks, I’m not even kidding. I feel that both have pulled me apart like a rope in a tight round of tug-of-war, but I’d hardly complain about it. For now, at least. But things haven’t changed. Each time I find myself free of any task for my majors or Philosophy reading assignments, I make it a point to sneak into Pitchfork.com or open the copy of NME or whatnot that I smuggle into school grounds (I listen in class, I promise). As usual, my iPod is my life.

Lately, I’ve been jumping back and forth between what’s been considered as “classic” and today’s rock/indie acts. Because I can’t think of anything grander for a quick post, I’m listing down my top 7 tracks for the past week. Pardon it in case you find it random. It perhaps reflects my state of mind for the past few days – all over the place but wonderfully messy nevertheless. Will get my act together soon, promise!

7| Hurting – Friendly Fires

When I saw the MV for “Skeleton Boy,” I confined Friendly Fires as another one of those cool indie bands that I probably wouldn’t come across ever again. My mind’s auto-correct function booted up when I came across Pala. When I heard “Hurting,” my abstraction of the band shifted form from cool to sexy. If Ed Macfarlane’s dancing doesn’t get your booty grooving, the synths at 3:43 should.

6| Loose – The Stooges

With the likes of The Velvet Underground, The Stooges are the dirt and stain on the bottom of the pan. You can’t scrape or wipe them off. They may be underneath, but they’re there forever. Iggy Pop is in a league strictly his own. Fun House has got to be one of the most wrecked/whacked records I’ve heard. “Loose” fits in perfectly in character and aesthetic.

5| My Hero – Foo Fighters

Were I to relive the 90’s, I’d give up my Backstreet Boys and Westlife cassettes for The Colour and the Shape. I’d be headbanging and playing air guitar instead of daftly mimicking the slow motion hero walk. My parents would have been amused either way. Trivia: This performance was at the same event Dave Grohl kicked out the a-hole in the striped shirt. For what? Well, for being an a-hole.

4| Roller – Beady Eye

Stripped of the Gallagher politics (or should I say anti-?) and everything else, Beady Eye make great music. Damn straight. “Roller” got me upon my first listen. Then I listened to it again – and again and again. I knew getting out of my “Wonderwall” phase would benefit me in the long run.

3| Hussle and Cuss – The Dead Weather

It all began when Jack met Alison. At that moment, a planetary alignment occurred and shook the musical universe. I haven’t forgiven myself for thinking that rock music had to be perfect and polished to be valid. The Kills, The White Stripes, The Dead Weather – the entire lot has, thankfully, proven me wrong. Being rough can be more beautiful than playing it nice – or more “valid” in this case.

2| Cemetery Gates – The Smiths

My first-ever taste of The Smiths was when I heard “How Soon is Now” on “Charmed,” completely ignorant of the band. I couldn’t describe what I felt when I heard the original version. Unreal, maybe. The song isn’t part of The Queen…, but the album is for keeps. When I heard Morrissey nod to Keates and Yates in “Cemetery Gates,” I knew I had to grab the album. I grabbed it the moment I found it.

1| Any Color You Like – Pink Floyd

What’s remarkable about Dark Side of the Moon is its cohesion and consistency. By far, each of my listens has been from “Speak to Me/Breathe” all the way to “Eclipse.” There’s no better route. This is why I find it unfair to pick out one track from the album. I blame the synth bits for grabbing my attention. I almost pissed my pants when I heard them.

About this entry