Covers: The Civil Wars on The Smashing Pumpkins – Disarm

I used to find it difficult listening to The Smashing Pumpkins because I couldn’t get past Billy Corgan’s timbre. It was too lateral for my taste and I found it repulsive. The first record I heard was Zeitgeist, which probably wasn’t the best trajectory. Thankfully, I learned to embrace the nuances. Looking into history always helps.

I’m currently lending an ear to Siamese Dream, after Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Siamese Dream may well be the record that gets me to be passionate about playing the electric guitar again (if only I wasn’t too lazy to save up for an SG or Tele). The album’s a rich collection of hard guitar-driven songs and radio-friendly numbers.

I was searching for a live performance of the song when I encountered a cover version by The Civil Wars. I’m not as big a fan of covers as I was before, but this just gave me the chills. Haunting vocals  and sparse guitars? That’s my kind of thing.

About this entry