10 Years Old: Is This It?

July 30, 2001 will forever be remembered as the day good old rock music emerged from the ashes – thanks to the lads Nick, Albert, Nikolai, Fab and Julian – and lo-fi garage pop. It’s funny how I’m currently watching a documentary about The Strokes as I type this entry.

In the heyday of manufactured boy/girl bands and hip-hop/rap, who would ever expect that a band influenced by The Velvet Underground and The Stooges would rock the world over? These guys paved the way for the likes of Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Interpol to being signed by major labels and radio airplay.

I can hardly believe that it’s already been a decade. I was a prepubescent fan of Linkin Park when Is This It? was released. People have said that listening to the music of The Strokes will change your life forever. That’s one hell of an understatement, if you ask me.

Watch/Listen:

1. New York Stories (documentary)
2. Last Nite – The Strokes (live)

About this entry